Oshawa City & District Fastball League Home
All Star Days
Oshawa City & District Fastball League > Home > All Star Days > 2007


On Wednesday, July 18, 2007 the Oshawa City and District Fastball League held its annual All Star game at Alexandra Park in Oshawa.
This year's event was a joint effort by several softball groups within Oshawa as a means of promoting the game to local fans. This year the organizing committee was composed of members from the following organizations:
  • Oshawa Minor Fastball (OMF)
  • Oshawa Double "B" Sports Club
  • Oshawa City and District Fastball League (OCDFL)

The format for the evening included a combined house league Peewee and select (OMF) Squirt Division Prospects Game followed by an OCDFL Home Run Derby and finally the OCDFL All Star Game. For the prospects game, two teams were formed by combining the house league and select players into the Red Team and the Yellow Team. The game was very entertaining with some excellent play from both sides. It was fitting that the game ended in a 7 - 7 draw after 4 innings. The MVPs for the game were A.J. Ballinger from the Red Team and Justin Mole from the Yellow Team.

The Home Run Derby featured some outstanding displays of hitting power with Anthony Paradiso from the Scarborough Royals taking the title with an impressive total of ten home runs. Other notables included Ryan Jaynes with 7, Ryan Swift with 4 and Rino Dambrosio with 3 home runs. Anthony was awarded a new Miken bat for his efforts.

The OCDFL game featured many of the stars of the League. Following are the complete rosters for the North and South Division All Stars.

North Division All Stars

Player Position Name Team
Mgr Manager Denis Smith Bradford Sox
C Coach Shelley Gram Markham Majors
C Coach Art Burkholder Stouffville Mennos
1 Pitcher Ryan Swift Bradford Sox
2 Catcher Matt Swift Bradford Sox
3 First Base Brian Schouten Bradford Sox
4 Second Base Rich Burkholder Stouffville Mennos
5 Third Base Rob Sheard Bradford Sox
6 Short Stop Mike Samways Markham Majors
7 Left Field Mike Dambrosio
8 Centre Field Rino Dambrosio Aurora Shoeless Joe's
9 Right Field Brenton Sparkes Newmarket Stingers
10 Alternate Dale Boadway Stouffville Mennos
11 Alternate Chris Boyd Newmarket Stingers
12 Alternate Ryan McCluskey Newmarket Stingers
13 Alternate Jeff Wilson Markham Majors
14 Alternate John Zeiger Lake Simcoe Lightning
15 Alternate Todd Hamblin Lake Simcoe Lightning

South Division All Stars

Player Position Name Team
Mgr Manager Jim Trimm Oshawa Ravens
C Coach John Mather Oshawa Double B Jrs
C Coach Chris Popovich Toronto Celtics
1 Pitcher Andy Skelton Scarborough Royals
2 Catcher Pat Humphries Oshawa Ravens
3 First Base Ted Kosciesza Oshawa Ravens
4 Second Base Matt DaSilva Scarborough Royals
5 Third Base Adam Trimm Oshawa Double B Jrs
6 Short Stop Brandon Horne Scarborough Wolverines
7 Left Field Tom Watson Oshawa Ravens
8 Centre Field Matt Davis Oshawa Double B Jrs
9 Right Field Bill Fairney Toronto Celtics
10 Alternate Dave Kewin Oshawa Ravens
11 Alternate Bruce Viera Toronto Celtics
12 Alternate Derek Parent Oshawa Double B Jrs
13 Alternate Aaron Trude Scarborough Royals
14 Alternate Steve Ketchell Toronto Celtics
15 Alternate Conor McTernan Scarborough Royals

Honourary captains included former OCDFL Executive members Wayne Allen for the North All Stars and Ken Leonard for the South All stars. The game was won by the North Division by a 5 to 2 score. A couple of uncharacteristic errors in the 5th inning proved to be the downfall of the South team as 4 runs were scored. Steve Ketchell was the unfortunate victim and took the loss. Mike Samways from the Markham Majors was the recipient of the North team MVP award for the second year in a row. Mike was 2 for 4 with two stolen bases and a run scored and exhibited some outstanding defensive play at shortstop. Matt Davis from the Oshawa Double B Jrs. Received the MVP award for the South team. Matt went 2 for 2 with a single and a triple and also scored a run. Congratulations to both Mike and Matt for their fine displays.

The League Executive especially wants to thank all of the players for their continued support of the All Star Game through their participation. Many of the young, local players and their families remained to watch the League All Stars and were treated to a great night of Fastball. The objective was to put on an entertaining show with the hope that many of the young players in attendance would consider staying involved in game.

The League Executive also took this opportunity to announce John Sharpe Sr. as the 2007 winner of the Buddy Yahn (formerly Iris Yahn) Memorial Award for his Contribution to Softball for over 25 years. Helen Yahn and her son Phil and Buddy's grandchildren were on hand to make this special presentation.

The umpires donated their services again this year in support of our fundraising efforts for Minor Fastball and the League. The crew of Doug Webster Sr., Brian Riess and Alsie Jack did a great job for both games.

Thanks again to everyone involved for making this year's All Star Game a success. If we as a League, are going to promote and preserve the game of Fastball for the future, showcases such as our annual All Star Game must be preserved. We must continue to attract the youth of today who will become the stars of tomorrow.

Jim Spiers
Oshawa City and District Fastball League

Copyright © 2011 Oshawa City & District Software Association. All rights reserved.
Contact OCDFL    |   Disclaimer & Copyright